RSS

Puff Pastry

07 Mar

We’re total carb-o-holics in this family.  Give us a good pastry, muffin, bread and we are happy to do almost anything you’d want.  : )  So it’s one thing that I’ve always wanted to master, a good pastry, like the ones you get in France!  They are so delish!  A few years ago I tested out croissants.  The problem is, it’s an all day process.  Not that you’re a slave in the kitchen all day, but you have to be at home to roll out and fold the dough.  So I rolled and rolled and folded and folded.  At the end of the day I had 12 croissants, that’s all.  They were good, but when you can spend $3 and get a bunch of croissants it’s not worth it.

I decided I needed to try my hand at puff pastry.  So I search the internet for advise.  If I’m going to spend all my time doing this then I was going to get it right the first time.  Then I found a recipe for Blitz Puff Pastry.  It’s a little simplified and the recipe suggested you roll the dough and fold a couple of times per refrigerated session.  What a great idea!  What makes pastries and croissants flaky and yummy is that you’re folding butter over and over into your dough.   So if you’re able to do a couple of folds then it will cut down on the number of times you have to put it in the refrigerator.

I combined it with an apple cinnamon sugar mixture.  And it was really good.  Lance asked me if I actually made the puff pastry because it tasted like it could be store bought.  Woo Hoo!

Here’s what I learned:

* Make sure every layer is rolled out as small as possible.  I think the thinner, the more roll outs, the flakier it will be.  The dough is actually pretty hard to roll out because it’s cold.  I guess I need to start working out my arms.

* I did a huge loaf, next time I’ll divide it out into separate little pastries because then I can add all sorts of different fillings.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on March 7, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

2 responses to “Puff Pastry

  1. trophy wife

    March 8, 2011 at 5:58 pm

    wish I lived closer, so I could sample

     
  2. LeeAnn Volk

    March 9, 2011 at 1:29 pm

    I’m wondering if a pasta roller wouls help in the rolling process. It gets the pasta dough pretty thin! IF you still lived here you could borrow mine and try it:)

     

Leave a Reply

 
